Mom Leaves Baby with Alligators on Purpose

April 29, 2010 § 1 Comment

Any mom who has ever dropped her baby off at daycare for the first time knows just how big a lump a human is capable of forming in her throat. It’s the kind of lump that comes from sadness, yes, but also guilt, fear, anguish and a special kind of panic that only happens when you’re the one who is responsible for being brave.

As I was walking back to my car after dropping Hiram off at daycare for the first time last fall, my head said this to me:

“If you’re going to trust this amazing little soul to someone besides yourself, you better be doing it for a good reason.”

At the time, it was easy to say, “Of course, my full-time job is a great reason to leave my kid at daycare.” It was also easy to blame my boss or some horrific project when I didn’t feel up to leaving him behind.

Today when I dropped him off, Hiram screamed like I was handing him over to a flock of chomping alligators. The lump came back in a really big way. But I still left him there and came back here to do what I want to do. Now, there’s no one to blame but me.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Mom Leaves Baby with Alligators on Purpose

  • renee says:

    But think about the enrichment and socialization benefits of day care. I was at a birthday party (1 year) for my twin Godddaughters this weekend and I get that I don’t see them a lot, but they cried anytime anyone but their mom, dad or grandma held them. Then, my other cousin’s daughter, Delaney, who is about the same age as the twins, was comfortable with everyone. The twins are raised by their stay at home dad, Delaney goes to day care … I know it’s not scientific, but I definitely made the correlation.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mom Leaves Baby with Alligators on Purpose at AndThen....

meta

