<5

May 5, 2010 § 2 Comments

If you know me, you know that I thrive off of meticulous to-do lists. I like to plan everything and I LOVE checking things off lists. So of course, one of the first things I did when I started out on my own was create one of these ridiculous monstrosities for my new business. (Let me pause here to tell you that this baby is a b-e-a-u-t-y. Categorized for easy updating with big projects broken out into little, manageable chunks.)  

In my old job, my rule was to limit my daily quota to 10 things. Although nice and round, this number was not selected arbitrarily. Oh no. This number was picked after finely tuning both the list of tasks (so as to ensure each task took approximately the same amount of time) and the time I had available in any given day. I should say that I didn’t always finish all ten, but I usually came close. And man, there’s nothing more motivating than knowing there’s a chance. Oh!

So I started out last week by picking 10 things I wanted to accomplish on Monday. Tasks actually accomplished on Monday: 1

Tuesday: Maybe 1

Wednesday: 2

Thursday: 2-3

Friday: 0 (By Friday, I was demoralized and read the ValuShopper coupons from beginning to end.)

So starting out this week, I decided to give myself a break. After all, I was starting a new gig and maybe things would take me longer than I had originally thought. I cut the number in half and gave it another go.

Monday: Solid 3

Tuesday: 2, but one was really hard.

Wednesday: I know it’s already 3 p.m. but I’m still holding out hope for 2.

OK. Based on this, it looks like my actual magic number might be 4. FOUR? Oh geez. I’m lucky I’m my own boss or I’d have some ‘splainen to do.

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to <5

  • Vera says:

    Hadley, I certainly understand your dilemma with lists. I too, make lists when I really need to get things done and today we’re in the same boat. Out of 6 tasks that needed doing only 2 were actually accomplished – maybe 2 is our lucky number for awhile!
    Thanks for sharing your journey with us. I’m thoroughly enjoying reading your musings of the day and look forward to the continuing saga of your amazing adventure. (Pictures of Hiram are a really neat bonus!!)
    Keep making those lists – it won’t be long and you’ll be crossing items off left & right (or if nothing else moving them to the next day!) Hug your amazing hubby and your joyfully busy son for me.

  • Sara says:

    Hadley, your entries are delightfully funny. I look forward to reading them as much as I enjoy my coffee in the morning, and that my friend, is a lot.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading <5 at AndThen....

meta

