My Asparaguy

May 7, 2010 § Leave a comment

I first fell in love– and I mean really in love– with asparagus when I read the book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver. If you haven’t read it, it’s basically the story of a family who decides to live off local and own-grown food for one year. I have fantasized about this lifestyle ever since—living on a farm, working in the fields, darning Brad’s socks on the front porch while he plays the banjo under a full moon…I could go on and I am not kidding.

Unfortunately, I hate gardening so that actually will never work out for me.

Here’s a little blurb from the book, which demonstrates why I had no chance of not loving asparagus after reading this book:

 “Older, healthier asparagus plants produce chunkier, more multiple shoots. Underneath lies an octopus-shaped affair of chubby roots (called a crown) that stores enough starch through the winter to arrange the phallic send-up when winter starts to break. The effect is rather sexy, if you’re the type to see things that way.”

What I took from that book which I still have now is the love of eating foods when they are in season. And asparagus, as Kingsolver points out, is one of the first foods of a new growing season. So here’s a critical thinking problem for you:

Asparagus = spring.

Hadley loves spring.

Therefore, Hadley is one sexy asparagus. No wait…

OK whatever, the long story short is that I think asparagus is delish and especially when it’s in season. And anyway, all of this is really just a set-up to brag about my baby, so guess what. Hiram loves asparagus too! This is not just a proud mama chest thumping about a kid who will tolerate the spring soldier. It’s true. A legit claim. He devoured more stalks of asparagus for dinner last night than me. Shoveled them in! Pounded on his tray for more, more, more!

Oh, my heart just pounds with delight every time I think about it…

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Asparaguy at AndThen....

meta

