Are Your Taste Buds Working Properly?

May 28, 2010 § 2 Comments

I recently finished a book by Banana Yoshimoto called Amrita. It’s a little dark for beach reading, but nice in that the story hums along– you make progress without feeling jostled. One of my favorite parts is a list the heroine’s mother gives her as a way to check and see if she’s happy. On the day before the unofficial start of summer, I found myself saying, “check, check, check.”

  • Are your taste buds working properly?
  • Do you look forward to waking up in the morning?
  • Are you happy all day?
  • Do you feel good when you go to bed at night?

Now. you are standing on the street and you see a friend coming…

  • Are you happy?
  • Or is it a bother?

Look around and notice the scenery…

  • Does the beauty of nature strike at your heart?
  • What about music?
  • How does it sound?

Think about a trip overseas…

  • Is that something you’d be interested in?
  • Do you get excited when you think about it?
  • Or is it just another pain in your life?
  • Do you look forward to tomorrow?
  • How about the day after next?

Happy Memorial Day Weekend everyone.

Next post = Tuesday.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Are Your Taste Buds Working Properly?

  • Sue says:

    Love today’s post. BTW — every night before I go to bed, I use a technique that you taught me 3 years ago. I make a list of 10 good things that happened to me that day. And I wanted to share my one BIG good thing from yesterday with you — I had an MRI and bone scan on Monday and yesterday the doctor called . . . no cancer! It’s a glorious day in the neighborhood.

  • Hadley says:

    Glorious indeed! That is wonderful news Sue!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Are Your Taste Buds Working Properly? at AndThen....

meta

