33 + 28 – (7 * 658) = OMG

June 9, 2010 § 2 Comments

While Brad really is the financial expert around here, my new gig means I have more time to manage the family budget. For Brad, this means a little break after a long day of crunching numbers at the office—which might sound like a good thing. Except that I am a wound up money manager and if I had it my way, we’d be squirreling away fifty percent of our income (read: living in a tent).

I knew the dollar sign deal when I started. I knew we would need to scale back. Fundamentally, this is what we should do anyway because, we both believe, money does not buy happiness. It’s just… I mean… being in the nitty-gritty’s of the numbers is making me a night owl. And not the party animal kind of night owl. The quiet kind of owl. With really big eyes.

Really, I shouldn’t be complaining. I continue to see signs of progress. Heck, I even picked up a little writing work at the William Mitchell College of Law last week and have at least a few other things in the hopper. It’s just that I don’t really know if those other things will pan out. I just have to sit here and trust that they will. This inner kind of calm, it turns out, is not one of my specialties.

So. Keep moving. That’s the plan for now. And continue to chip away at both ends of our little budget equation. Earn a little more. Spend a little less. Earn a little more. Spend a little less.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to 33 + 28 – (7 * 658) = OMG

  • renee says:

    Hey Hadley, I’m here commenting on your blog to remind you about a conversation that we had like a week ago. Something abut how there are no expectations to make money or think about making money for the first year and that your efforts should be focused on pursuing your passion – the money will follow. Just think of this of your friendly Wednesday reminder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 33 + 28 – (7 * 658) = OMG at AndThen....

meta

