Work and Play

June 14, 2010 § 2 Comments

Where to start on this crazy weekend? Perhaps a few vignettes would be best.

Worked on the cabin? Check.

We are in the process of putting an addition on our cabin which means our time there is a finely tuned hybrid of work and play. Needless to say, Hike doesn’t really understand this. He thinks it should all be play. While he has a point, that attitude isn’t the most conducive to getting things done. So Hike and I spent the weekend playing at home while Brad made a solo trip to the cabin to, as he put it, “crank.”

Look at the trouble in his eyes...

Bought a boat? Check.

To complicate things just a little, we bought a used boat. We’ve been looking and looking for a boat and of course, found the perfect one on Friday night– a mere 11 hours before Brad was set to hit the road. While Hiram and I met a friend for one of our two awesome play dates this weekend, Brad was shuttling the boat to the marina for a check-up and finalizing plans for a closing this morning.

I know you don't believe me, but it does fit in the garage.

Scenic training run? Check.

During one of our only non-rain windows of opportunity, Hike and I took the baby jogger over to Minnehaha Falls. I am running a 10-miler at the end of July and kinda-sorta need to put running a tiny bit higher on that ol priority list’a mine. Hike was a great sport and even clapped for me a few times as I pushed his (super adorable yet) chunky little thighs up hills I have never noticed before.  

Nail-gunned thumb? Check.

Yep. Let me start this section by saying that by Sunday afternoon, I was pretty much counting the minutes until Brad got home. The rain coupled with Hike’s impatience to get better at walking had me checking the clock at 4:56…4:56…4:56.

So when I got Brad’s call at about 6 p.m. I was happily expecting to hear he was on his way home. Nope. He was in the emergency room with a nailed thumb.  It was a completely fluky accident that wasn’t even remotely his fault. But I still kind of had a hissy.   

Note to Mom Barrows: One tetanus shot and a few antibiotics later, he swears he’s totally fine. I believe him because he can wiggle his figures without fake smiling. Thank God.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Work and Play

  • renee says:

    Congratulations on the boat! You’re living the dream!

  • Vera says:

    Thanks for the note of reassurance, Hadley. His
    father and I are just shaking our heads and smiling. Isn’t it amazing how flat roads suddenly become mountains as soon as an extra load is thrown into the mix?! Keep up that kind of training and you’ll be leaving everyone else in the dust!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Work and Play at AndThen....

meta

