Llama Llama Red Pajama

August 12, 2010 § 3 Comments

One thing we learned in my children’s book writing class was the importance of researching publishers. This is a brilliant idea that is so intuitive, I kind of wish I would have thought of it on my own. Nonetheless, I did not. But the good news is– that does not matter because my smart teacher (Lisa Bullard at the Loft) gave me the tip anyway. Soooo. I have been doing a bit of research.

The point of the research is to remove a small part of the chance involved in finding a publisher to pick your manuscript. Here’s a fun fact: Publishers may “sit” on manuscripts for months on end and sometimes require “exclusive submissions.”

This little tidbit means research is like, totally required. Because while it’s still a ridiculous long shot at least after you do research you know that the publisher who is sitting on your manuscript has been known to actually publish stories like the one you wrote.

The things I learned to look for while researching are:

  1. If the book is “good” (according to the industry)
  2. If the book seems like a book I might write
  3. If I like the story and the images

In order to keep myself on task, I have decided to review a book that meets the above criteria once a month. In the future, I’m going to try to find NEW books to review since reviewing old books makes me feel a bit lame. But since I just thought of this blog idea recently and don’t have any new books to review yet, you get: Llama Llama Red Pajama.

Llama Llama Red Pajama was written and illustrated by Anna Dewdney and is the type of book I sneak onto the top of Hiram’s book pile before bedtime. “Why?” you ask? Because Hiram picks his own bedtime books and while he might have a few favorites, most nights he can get excited about whatever happens to be on top. When Llama Llama Red Pajama is on top, everyone wins.

This story is cute and blah, blah, blah but you know what I love about it the most? It’s dear little rhythm.

“Llama Llama Red Pajama Reads a story with his mama.”

It’s easy to be a good mama while reading Llama Llama because the entire process is fun. It’s not like some books where, try as you might, the whole world just gets a little more boring with every. single. turn. of the page. So, check it out my friends and llama mamas. You and your favorite little llamas will love it, I promise.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Llama Llama Red Pajama

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Llama Llama Red Pajama at AndThen....

meta

