Never Let Me Go

February 22, 2011 § 1 Comment

Last night my book group braved the winter weather to talk about Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Now today I can’t stop thinking about this book. 

So, I guess that means  I’m coming to you with a level of fervor I wasn’t expecting have. And I guess it also means I’m going to get a little philosophical on y’all, which I wasn’t expecting to do. Consider yourself warned.

It’s actually Megan’s fault. She’s the one who pointed out that the people in this book were acting mindlessly. She found this to be unbelievable. I wish I thought it was unbelievable too. I wish (so bad) I had trouble believing people do what they think they’re supposed to do and not what they actually want to do. But in my experience, it seems like people almost always do what they’ve been raised to do. Sure, they might bucka buck about it, but they do it all the same. I know I do.

In fact, I can’t even think of how I wouldn’t do what I was raised to do. What would that look like? What would that even be? I’ve been trying all day to think of the craziest alternate reality I could think of and haven’t been able to come up with a measure any more drastic than “moving to a deserted island.” Which, when you think about it, is exactly what people think of when they’re trying to be all crazy and creative.

Do you see what I’m saying? Do you see?

It’s making me a little bit nuts.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Never Let Me Go

  • Megan says:

    I must confess that I am not revolutionary, and I do what is expected of me for the most part, but look what’s been happening in africa lately. maybe we here in the u.s. (particularly those of us who are white, american born, middle class) don’t have to buck the system because we already have it pretty good. we get to work within the social structure to try to makes things better. but I think that when things are really crazy, eventually someone has the courage to stand up and try to stop it. it didn’t seem like that was ever going to happen in the book.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Never Let Me Go at AndThen....

meta

