The Mounds of Barrows

March 8, 2011 § 1 Comment

Don’t get me wrong. I love my husband to death. But one of the hardest things about learning to live with him was learning to live with the piles of things he leaves around the house. A turning point in our early marriage transition, I’d say, was when I decided to give these piles a name. I called them, “Bradly mounds.”

As with most things in my life, I have a special spot in my heart for things I name. So naming them was brilliant in that respect. (Also brilliant, I feel obligated to add, is Bradly’s valiant efforts to keep his mounds at bay…most of the time.)

Bradly mounds are special in that there is almost never any rhyme or reason to why the things in the mound are there together. For example, a Bradly mound could consist of a shoe, a ball, a few papers and a cupcake. Or, it could be some kind of electrical wire, a hedge clipper and some toothpaste. How these things come together in the Bradly universe has always been a mystery to me, until today.

Today, I created this:

How did I create such a nice little mound? By unloading my coat pockets, for starters. And then cleaning off the dining room table for dinner. That little series of events created what Bradly (aptly) dubbed a “mama mound”. I deserved that.  

Which got me thinking about how now, there are three kinds of mounds in our house. Bradly mounds. Mama mounds. And the cutest of all, Hike mounds.

Tagged:

§ One Response to The Mounds of Barrows

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Mounds of Barrows at AndThen....

meta

