Letter to the Babysitter re: Bedtime

March 17, 2011 § 5 Comments

In the past week, two unrelated things happened:

1) I had lunch with a good friend who told me she loves that my blog will help us remember all the amazing, little things that happen in our lives right now. I agreed with her but secretly realized I had only scratched the “amazing things” surface.

2) Our hockey tourney adventures caused me to spend a little time meticulously documenting some of the everyday processes we go through with Hike.

These two instances combined make me want to cut/paste the babysitter content I wrote about Hiram’s bedtime ritual here. Now, we can all remember it forevermore. Phew.

Bedtime routine—start at 7:30/7:45, bedtime is 8

Going through all the steps of the bedtime routine are not required, but might help him settle down.

  1. Brush teeth (Hiram stands on the stool and brushes his own teeth for approx. 2 minutes. Sometimes he tries to stall on this step so just tell him he’s all done when you get sick of it. I will leave his toothbrush and toothpaste out. Don’t give him adult toothpaste. Hiram calls this step “teeth”)
  2. Change into a nighttime diaper and pajamas. These will be sitting on his dresser.
  3. Read 3 books. Sometimes Hiram picks these out and sometimes he tries to play with other toys instead. If he goes for the other toys, just pick books that look interesting to you, pick him up, set him on your lap and start reading. Recent favorite is ‘Where the Wild Things Are.’
  4. After books, say, “It’s time to go to sleep now” and Hiram will usually say, “cheeks.”
  5. Put him in his crib and use the lotion (set by the pj’s) to put on his cheeks. Then he’ll ask for lotion for his hands. Put a tiny dab on his hands and tell him to rub it in. He also needs his blanket (called ni-ni) and his pillow (sounds like babow).
  6. Turn out the light and leave. He might cry for a bit but should settle down after a while. Try not to go back in because then he thinks he should keep crying. Sometimes he bangs on the bed which makes a very loud noise. He’s totally fine.
Tagged:

§ 5 Responses to Letter to the Babysitter re: Bedtime

  • I like the fact that you’ve got such a set routine – my little one doesn’t really have one, and I know that I must set one up. We have, finally, gotten him to the stage where we can put him in bed, kisses all round, and then walk out the room – before, only husband could do that and I had to sit for upwards of 45 minutes before Monster fell asleep. No I can do it too! I think I’ll give your book-reading thing a go – mine loves books, so he should appreciate this, and it’s a good way to get him to calm down before bedtime …

  • renee says:

    I love this post Hadley! My mom thinks I totally “baby” Landon because we have a night time routine. She says to me, “When you kids were young I just put you in your crib and walked away.” Wow, thanks Mom. Anyway, it’s great to know I’m not alone with the routine. And kudos for getting Hiram into tooth brushing from the get-go. I wrote a scary paper about baby teeth in college that made me realize how important it is.

  • […] hockey tournament and it reminded me that last year at this time, I documented Hiram’s sweet bedtime routine. When I went back to read it again, I realized how much we’ve evolved since then. It made […]

  • […] few years ago during, I posted a letter I wrote to Hiram’s babysitter. It was kind of fun to have that little bedtime snapshot in time so […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Letter to the Babysitter re: Bedtime at AndThen....

meta

