‘meeeeer!

April 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

Lately, Hiram has started saying things that mean an awful lot to him. Unfortunately, sometimes his words don’t carry the same meaning for us. You may recall my post from last week about the word “yellow”. He says this word so much and in so many different circumstances, I can’t believe he’s always just talking about the color. In fact, Brad and I have started brainstorming alternative meanings for “yellow” in our spare time.

Maybe he’s saying “hello?” Hello Legos. Hello coat hooks?

Maybe he remembers that graham crackers go with marshmallow?

Hiram knows we don’t know what he’s talking about, so to help us out, he uses gestures whenever possible. Over the weekend, he started having this conversation with me:

Hiram: Mama?

Mama: Yes, Hiram.

Hiram: ‘meeeeer.

Mama: meer?

Hiram: ‘meeeeeer! [slapping his upper thigh with his hand.]

Mama: “Oh! You want me to come here?!”

In all likelihood he’s learned this from being frequently beckoned like a puppy, which makes me wonder if it’s behavior I should encourage. But, I can’t tell him to stop. It’s so stinkin’ cute. I just can’t do it.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ‘meeeeer! at AndThen....

meta

