I Have a Little Cough

April 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

For some reason, I always find extremely prolific small children to be a little bit alarming. As a lover of words, this surprises me about myself but I can’t help it. For example, Hiram has a classmate at school who is like, one foot tall, and has been speaking in complete sentences since I met him in the infant room. “Hi Hiram’s mommy! I’m busy playing with a ball.”

Then there was that recurring dream I kept having where Hiram was speaking in complete sentences. I can’t remember everything he said, but I do remember when he said, from his baby-wrap bundle, “Mom, I have a little cough.” Eeesh.

As I think of all the moms I know who started this journey before me, I can’t think of one who hasn’t, at some point, noticed the day their child started speaking prolifically. Usually, the description of this day includes the word, “explosive.”

For the reasons outlined above, I have been only a little bit dreading this day with Hiram. This also surprises me about myself because, obviously, a vocabulary explosion would do a lot for helping me understand what he thinks. I think it’s more the idea that one day he’s saying gobbledygook and the next day he’s saying, “Mom, I have a little cough.”

But, I’m happy to report that I think Hiram, at least, is going to ease his mama into this change. Or at least, he’s been graciously giving me warning that an explosion might be in the works. Recently, Hiram has started giving me these clues:

  • He has continued to deliver full lines of gobbledygook with a passion that can only mean he knows what he’s talking about.
  • He’s saying all kinds of new words, unprompted, and in the right context.
  • He’s saying words more clearly (a.k.a. he’s sometimes easier to understand.)
  • He combines words and uses gestures. (“Snow. Go? With his “where’s the duck” gesture means “Where did the snow go?”)
  • He will try to say almost any word you put before him.

So, maybe he will still explode. I’m not ruling it out. But I think I’m OK with that. I think I’m ready. Go for it, baby.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Have a Little Cough at AndThen....

meta

