Daddy Go?

April 28, 2011 § Leave a comment

Hiram has a favorite sentence now. It’s pretty clear he enjoys having a go-to sentence because it starts something that closely resembles actual conversation with the people he’s engaging.

The only thing is, he pretty much just has this one sentence. Which is, “Daddy Go?” He uses this sentence emphatically whenever he notices that Daddy has gone missing. Despite my efforts to give him a thoughtful and easy-to-understand answer he always asks the question again and again. Even as his mother, this dialogue gets a little tiresome.

Out of slight desperation the other day, I finally thought of asking him a question in return. I said, “Where do you think Daddy went?” and he said, “Ummmmm. Car.”

This made me realize that I have never before answered, “Car.” I always skip to, “work.” Or “hockey!” but never, “Daddy went in the car.” Goes to show that even when I’m trying to be simple and straightforward, I get ahead of things.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Daddy Go? at AndThen....

meta

