My Baby’s Knees

May 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

I realize this is ridiculous, but I am having a very hard time adjusting to the new (shorts induced) state of Hiram’s knees.

Hiram, being his daddy’s boy, handles each occurrence like the tough little man he is (basically just the exclamation “Ouuuuuchhhh,” and a hand over the new scrape.)  Meanwhile, I’m find myself standing there staring down in horror as the cement rips hole after hole in my baby boy’s perfect knees. The ache in my stomach resembles the trauma I felt when I discovered the first few dings in Herkie’s car door. Only worse.

Perfect, smooth, darling little baby knees. Well on their way to boyhood.

Do you think I can get Hiram to tolerate snow pants this summer?

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Baby’s Knees at AndThen....

meta

