The Year of Magical Thinking

May 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

One of my favorite authors is Joan Didion. Like most of the people who love her, I love her because of the way she grabs you from the beginning and holds onto you, ruthlessly and unconditionally, until the last page is turned. She does this with her fiction. She does this with her non-fiction. She does this no matter the topic and no matter whatever else. She’s amazing. Which is why I was excited to find out that the Nimbus Theater was showing a one-woman play based on her book, “The Year of Magical Thinking.”

Brad and I made a date night out of going to the show and over dinner, I said this to him:

“I don’t want to go to this play.”

Brad was understandably confused.

The truth was, I was expecting this book not to translate well and I was afraid to revisit one of my favorite books in a way that was abbreviated and unsavorable.  Even worse, if it wasn’t abbreviated and unsavorable, (read: if it was half as good as the book) I wasn’t ready to endure the pain I felt while reading the book the first time.

Probably should have thought of all this before we found the sitter, made dinner reservations and ironed our dress-up clothes huh?

I wish I could say that in the end, all my fears turned to dust and I walked out of that theater a changed woman. I wouldn’t go that far. But I do think the play did a good job of translating the story to the stage and bringing out the points that would play well live.

I was just in the mood for a comedy. But not The Year of Magical Thinking – a Comedy. That would have made me sad.

At any rate, if you are also a Joan Didion fan, you might also like to see this play on stage. It does the book justice… is what I’m saying. The show runs through May 21.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Year of Magical Thinking at AndThen....

meta

