The Snowy Day

June 23, 2011 § 1 Comment

I’m sure all of you are familiar with this awesome book by Ezra Jack Keats. It’s one I remember reading as a little girl. Now, thanks to a gift for Hiram from my good friend, it’s one he will remember reading too.

Hiram loves snow. He’s one of the few people I know (OK, the only person I know) who actually felt our last winter was snatched away from him prematurely. Which is why I think he likes reading this story about a little boy and his big snow adventure. He likes to point out the snow. He likes to listen to the words. He is intrigued by the slightly abstract-looking pictures.

My favorite part of reading this story is getting to the last page. I like the last page more than I ever did as a kid because on the last page, the little boy asks his friend to come along with him for a second day of playing in the snow. Here they are heading out.

The first time we read this story, Hiram and I had this conversation about this page:

Hiram (pointing to the boy on the right): “What’s that?”

Me: “That’s Peter’s friend.”

Hiram: “Josh?” (Josh is Daddy’s friend)

Me: “Yes, a friend like Josh”

Hiram (pointing to the boy on the left): “Daddy?”

Me: “Yes, we can say that’s Daddy.”

Now when we read this story, Hiram never misses identifying Josh and Daddy on the last page. That is dang cute, don’t you agree?

Tagged:

§ One Response to The Snowy Day

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Snowy Day at AndThen....

meta

