Houston, We Have a Problem

September 22, 2011 § 4 Comments

The best way to avoid a problem is to worry about it profusely.

Worry yourself to restless sleep.

Worry all day long.

Worry even when people tell you it will be fine. That way, the thing you’re worrying about will never happen. This actually works. I do it all the time.

Unfortunately, we’ve got a pretty big problem. So big, in fact, that all the worrying I did before didn’t help. At least not very much. At all.

I’m stalling.

I don’t want to tell you what’s wrong.

I don’t want to write it here because I don’t want it to be true.

But I will write it here.

In a minute.

It’s Hiram.

He doesn’t want his baby brother.

There. I said it.

I’ve known this for a while but I’ve been holding out on you. Hoping I could eventually post some pithy little story about how Hiram wasn’t too sure about e-Lou at first but now he’s all a-flutter with excitement.

Alas, still not really all a-flutter.

I’ve been working on this post for the last hour and the content (all brilliant and important, of course) has far exceeded my self-imposed per-post-word-count limit. So. I’m starting a new series. Hopefully a short-lived series of short little pithy stories on how we identified, grappled with and eventually resolved this little problem of ours.

Stay tuned…

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Houston, We Have a Problem

  • Heather says:

    Hadley, from what I know this is completely normal. Hiram will come around once the baby is actually here.

  • Sue Yund says:

    I agree 100% with Heather (which I don’t do too often!). Hike has been an only child for awhile, so it will take a bit to get him used to his baby brother. But once he does, he will be the best big brother in the world. And I speak from experience — my girls are best friends and I love that so much about them.

  • Michael says:

    Yep, agreed with your friends above. Just watch this season’s Modern Family for encouragement. Lily had some pretty harsh words about a new baby brother in the season premier, but i have a feeling she’ll come along too 🙂

  • […] I was worried. Share this:ShareFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Houston, We Have a Problem at AndThen....

meta

