No Two Babies!

September 23, 2011 § 4 Comments

Yesterday, I told you I’ve decided to start a little series to track the progress we’re making towards convincing Hiram that a new little brother is actually really awesome. I guess in order to get you to buy-in to this series it might help to tell you about how we came to realize we had this problem in the first place.

Here are a few of the most poignant examples:

  • The first time we tried to tell Hiram he was going to have a baby brother he said, “No! No two babies!!”
  • The second time we tried to tell Hiram he was going to have a baby brother, he said, “No way!”
  • When we asked Hiram what he thought we should name his baby brother, he said, “No name my baby brother!”

Hiram reinforces this sentiment with his actions. For example, ever since I’ve started to show, Hiram wants nothing to do with me. He doesn’t want to sit by me at dinner, he doesn’t want me to tuck him into bed and he won’t let me read him any stories.

When I try to take him out of his car seat, he says, “Daddy do it!” and pushes me away. He pushes me away…by my belly, people!

Sometimes, he also tries to punch me in the belly.

Is this Hiram being two? Or is this Hiram being anti-two-babies?

You decide.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to No Two Babies!

  • Catherine says:

    Two important things for introducing a baby to a house with a 2yo:

    1.) Have the baby bring Hiram a present when they meet in the hospital. Baby Amelia brought Big Brother Jackson a Lego firetruck on their first meeting and he still talks about it (and thanks her for it) today.

    2.) When Hiram comes to meet the baby for he first time, send the baby to the nursery. Then go down the hall together as a family to go get the new baby. This makes sure that Hiram knows that he hasn’t been ousted as the Mayor of Momville before even seeing this new babe.

    Good luck!!

  • Heather says:

    I believe its Hiram being two and I completely agree, 100%, with Catherine’s suggestions. We had Baby Katherine buy a gift for Emma and she was quite happy. I also think the wanting Daddy is a phase that all kids go through wanting one parent over another. Good luck. Love to all.

  • Dottie says:

    Wait, did you see the last Modern Family episode (When Good Kids Go Bad)? Too ironic (and actually really funny and insightful). Check it out!

  • Fernie says:

    We also did what Catherine did with the Baby and the Kid. We also had the Kid pick out a gift for the Baby (and help wrap it) and they got to exchange gifts when they first met. They both love their stuffies.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading No Two Babies! at AndThen....

meta

