How Do YOU Know?

September 30, 2011 § 2 Comments

Here’s something I wonder. How does Hiram know he doesn’t want his little brother? I mean. It seems like having the foresight to anticipate the potential pitfalls associated with a sibling is actually a demonstration of some very advanced critical thinking ability. (Oh, but of course!)

Maybe they talk at daycare? This seems like a little bit of a long shot considering when I talk to Hiram’s friends at school, we spend our time sorting out how we’re related (Hiram’s mama! Not my mama!) Or we talk about whose truck is whose.

Are these the same kids who are pulling Hiram aside during large motor activity and saying things like “Dude, whatever you do, do NOT get a baby brother. You will hate it.”

I almost hope so. Because otherwise it’s me. Or us. Somehow giving Hiram the idea that e-Lou is trouble. It couldn’t be, could it? Have I made this mistake? Have I given him this impression?

Crimany.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to How Do YOU Know?

  • Sarah says:

    I have thought about this too! I didn’t want my little sister when I was 13. I’m pretty sure I had no idea that I would think that when I was two.

    Maybe Hiram just doesn’t like to talk about something new. Maybe he wants to play with that favorite truck and when the talk turns to e-Lou, it’s a distraction. Just a guess. For your sake, I’m hoping he warms up to the idea soon!

  • Katharine says:

    He probably just knows that he doesn’t want to share your attention. I’m sure he’s noticed that your belly gets some attention already…I’m sure he’ll get over it though.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How Do YOU Know? at AndThen....

meta

