Doctor, Doctor, Give Me the News

January 10, 2012 § Leave a comment

You know what I am terrible at doing? Calling the doctor. It isn’t that I don’t call the doctor because I do. But every time, I get worked up.

Is he sick? Is he fine? Is this regular fussy? Or exceptional fussy? Maybe this is just what newborns are like? Maybe I need to tough it out? But what if something’s wrong? Or hurting? Maybe I should just call? Or maybe I should wait and see if it gets better? But what if it’s bad already? What if it’s something serious?

OK. I’ll call.

To my credit, this time was tricky. Eldyn didn’t have any of the “it’s-legit-to-call” clues. No fever. No rash. No gunk in his eyes or pulling on his ears. Nothing. Except the mama hunch. Which was nagging (to say the least) and finally resulted in a call.

“What’s the matter?” the nurse asked.

“Um.” I said. “He’s fussy.”

Although in my head, I was just planning to call the doctor for a chat, the nurse knew what I wanted. She could hear it in my voice.

“Do you want to bring him in? The doctor has openings today.”

That was all I needed. Before I knew it, I was throwing on the cleanest clothes I could find, brushing my hair for the first time in a week and dragging my newborn across town to the doctor’s office because… he was fussy.

You see. Here’s the thing about me. I don’t like to be wrong. I don’t like to waste people’s time. And, I certainly don’t like to expose my newborn to a bunch of neat new germs for the heck of it. So in my mind, I had a lot at stake. Which is why I found myself driving towards the doctor and actually hoping there was something the matter with my baby. Hoping, my friends. Hoping hard.

And the hoping paid off. The doctor had great news! Eldyn, she thinks, has acid reflux and has been shooting stomach acid out his nose for the past few days. Well now, that’s a relief, isn’t it?

(Luckily for Eldyn, this problem is easily fixed and he should be feeling back to his usual self in just a few days.)

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Doctor, Doctor, Give Me the News at AndThen....

meta

