Smile!

January 16, 2012 § 3 Comments

You know when you’re feeling a little grumpy and there’s that one person who just needs you to smile anyway? They say, “Smile!” as if a big fake smile will change the fact that your baby just pooped in your bed.

Or…whatever. That’s just a hypothetical example.

You wanna know who that person is in Eldyn’s life? His mama. I’m the crazy “smile” person. For two weeks now, I’ve been waiting for his first real (read: not gassy) smile. His first “social” smile as they say on all the web sites I’ve found by Googling “when will my baby smile?” (FYI: 4-6 weeks). I’ve tried hamming it up. I’ve tried singing and dancing. I’ve tried light-up chew toys. I’ve tried, well, everything.

I know. I know what they say. No one goes to college without smiling. But here’s the thing.

Eldyn. I need you to smile at me. Sort of soon. I mean. It’s just you and me kid. Sitting on the couch all day and nursing together all night. We’re like two peas in a pod. Only one of the peas just eats and sleeps and poops in my bed and the other pea does all the work. And nobody’s smiling!

So how about it? A big gummy one for your old lady? Let’s see it, little one.

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to Smile!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Smile! at AndThen....

meta

