5 Parenting Questions

February 10, 2012 § 3 Comments

OK. Two months at home with a newborn and I’m starting to interview myself for entertainment.

1) What’s the best parenting advice you’ve ever received? Don’t change your baby’s diaper at night, unless you really, really have to.

2) What’s the most annoying parenting advice you’ve ever heard? Don’t do laundry.

3) What’s the most important thing you’ve learned from your kids, so far? Less is more.

4) What is your favorite age, so far? 2

5) If your newborn could talk, what would they say? Or, if your kid could have talked as a newborn, what would they have said?

  • Hiram: OMG, OMG, OMG, OMG.
  • E-Lew: I hate to poop.

OK, mamas, papas, and other people with important kids in their lives. Now you answer these questions too. If you don’t have kids, you can revise the questions to make them relevant to you and answer however you want. Eldyn and I will draw a name from all the responders and one lucky person will win my very last 2012 Commemorate the Date calendar!

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to 5 Parenting Questions

  • Trace says:

    Best advice: your life will not be the same with kids…it will be better.
    Most annoying: don’t use pull ups to potty train (given to me when my first was all of three weeks old, when all I cared about was sleep)
    Most important thing learned: the world is amazing and full of wonder if you stop to take a look.
    Favorite age: this is tough. I’d say all of them except three. That age is far worse than two.
    If they could talk: Linnea…don’t sit down. Don’t you dare sit down. I told you not to sit down. Sydney…ooh, look! A stuffed animal! Ellie…yes, adore me. Tell me I’m cute. Tell me again. Now, give me what I want.

  • Fernie says:

    Best advice: Trim their fingernails while they are dozily breastfeeding.
    Most annoying advice: Just take your baby in the shower with you, it’s faster. (So not worth it…baths are awesome fun and tucker them out!)
    Most important thing learned: Never plan too far ahead because those plans will change.
    Favorite age: Almost four. They can do things on their own and tell funny stories, but still want their mommy.
    If they could talk: The Kid: Sway! Now go in figure-8s! Now put in me in my bouncer and never turn off the vibrator. The Baby: Don’t put me down…ever!

  • Lois Quam says:

    Best advice: Don’t say you didn’t accomplish anything today – getting a new little life started is a pretty big thing.
    Annoying advice: Don’t name your baby Hadley. Kids might tease her about her name.
    Most important thing learned: Don’t try to change them – they are who they are.
    Favorite age: Kindergarteners – love seeing how they approach going off on their own.
    If they could talk: Calm down, nothing could be that bad.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 5 Parenting Questions at AndThen....

meta

