Out of Scope = Retirement Planning

April 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

One thing I am coming to realize: If my kids are annoying to me, it is probably because I am trying to do something that should really just be “out of scope.” Like, painting our bedroom during “wake-up time,”  or sweeping the floor while Hiram eats his snack.

It’s hard to relate to friends who are seeing their kids off to college and are legitimately worried about what they will do with all their new-found time. Sometimes all I can do is dream of a day when my teenage boys don’t want to get out of bed until noon. Just think what Brad and I could do with a lazy spring morning. Sweatpants, for sure. Coffee shop, for sure. A walk around the lake? Oh man. Heaven.

So, instead of resenting my kids for having their age-appropriate dispositions, I’m going to concentrate on enjoying them every minute. I’ll  just start writing my “out of scope” ideas down for use when I am absolutely heartsick to see my babies grow up. (I have a feeling I’m going to need more than a list to get myself out of the empty nest slump).

Here’s the start:

  • Get coffee and walk around the lake. Eat breakfast at a cafe afterwards
  • Go on a long vacation
  • Go out to eat somewhere nice on a whim
  • Watch an indie movie in a theater
  • Plant an actual, functioning garden that doesn’t die immediately
Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Out of Scope = Retirement Planning at AndThen....

meta

