To My Old Dentist: I Miss You.

June 25, 2012 § 4 Comments

My old dentist and his wife (a.k.a my dental hygienist) retired. I’m having a hard time with this.

After all.

When I went to my old dentist, I was a star patient. My teeth were “beautiful” and my flossing technique, “on par.”An honest-to-goodness no cavity kid!

And, they knew me.

Before I even knew I was pregnant with Eldyn, my dental hygienist pointed out that my gums were “sensitive like they were when [I was] pregnant with and nursing Hiram.” Immediately following that appointment I stopped at Target, bought a test, peed on a stick and saw this: +

My old dental hygienist knew I was pregnant before I did.

Now they’re retired and they referred me to a Dragon Dentist.

I should have known I was in trouble when Dragon Dentist asked me about my family and then, when I smiled, cut me off mid-cute-baby-story to say, “I can see when you smile that you have completely rubbed the enamel off your teeth.”

The Dragon Dentist tricked me into smiling so she could investigate my enamel.

She also didn’t believe me when I told her my gums got sensitive when I nursed. While I was strapped to the chair in the Dragon Dentist’s office, I was subjected to a level of torture no single human should face alone.

  • She spent 85 percent of my visit suggestive selling an electric toothbrush she happened to have available for only $350.
  • She taught me how to floss.
  • She reinforced my poor flossing skills by cleaning my teeth with some kind of jack hammer contraption while saying, “Your gums shouldn’t be bleeding like this!”
  • Just to be sure I understood, she flossed my bloody pulp gums (again!) to within inches of their lives.
  • Then, she handed me a mirror. I guess this was so I could see what she had done. When I “smiled,” it looked like I had just lost a fight. Which I had.

I’m still flossing blood clots out from between my teeth.

Oh, and Dragon Dentist wants to see me again in 6-8 weeks. For another “cleaning.” Yeah right.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to To My Old Dentist: I Miss You.

  • Megan says:

    I can refer you to my new dentist. I was a star patient at my old place, and they gave me high marks at the new place too. And she was interested in talking about my pregnancy. And, located right downtown to boot.

  • Heather says:

    My dentist in Edina is fantastic with scaredy me and even my shy kiddo. I have referred several people and they all love him! Let me know if you want his digits.

  • Deb says:

    I’ve complimented my dentist in South Mpls on his novocaine injection skills (that means I’m not a star patient, but they are great at what they do). Stephen Tervola on the corner of 37th and Lake…hm that reminds me I need to make an appointment.

  • […] went to the dentist for the first time today (needless to say, we did not go to Dragon Dentist) and was a star patient. He walked in to the dentist’s office with just a little bit of […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading To My Old Dentist: I Miss You. at AndThen....

meta

