$1 Million

July 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ll admit it. I sometimes like to think of myself as indispensable to my two babies. While I’m thinking this, there’s also a part of me that knows I’m humoring myself.

Sure. I’m a great diaper changer. And no one can chop and peel a grape like me. But. There’s also a pretty good chance these stunning attributes are offset by other less stunning attributes. In the end, I know my boys will probably be just fine no matter which loving caregiver is in charge.

Last night, for the first time in a while, I made plans that forced me to miss dinner and bedtime at home. Despite worrying that my family would suffer without me, I spent all day yesterday looking forward to a night out. I did give Brad specific instructions though. I said, “Call if things aren’t going well. If Eldyn won’t take a bottle, call right away.”

Since Eldyn’s been selectively boycotting the bottle, I guess I was more than expecting a call around bedtime. And if I am being completely honest, I would have to admit I was hoping they’d call. At least a little part of me was hoping. But alas, bedtime came and went with no frantic call from home. I was left to enjoy myself. My family was fine without me.

And then I got a text. It was later than bedtime because Bradly was trying to give me a whole night out to myself. But he also did what he promised. He sent me a text that said:

Hiram is in bed, Eldyn is not having a very good night but we’re doing fine and he’ll settle down eventually 🙂 love you!

“I’ll be right there.” I texted back and then rushed home to find proof I really am indispensable to my baby—he desperately wanted me.

I guess pre-bedtime outings are back on hold for just a little bit longer.

Feeling like a million bucks has its price. But it’s still a bargain.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading $1 Million at AndThen....

meta

