Hiram: 3 Years + 2 Months

August 6, 2012 § 2 Comments

20120806-165513.jpg

Run On: I always try to remember to let Hiram finish his thoughts. Usually, this means summoning up a little bit of patience as Hiram searches for the right word. Or at least, as Hiram searches for the best way to say something given the words he knows.

But this month, letting Hiram finish his thoughts has taken a new turn. Now, it sometimes means waiting for an amazingly long and complicated sentence to run its course. This is not verbatim, but here’s a general example: “I want to put on my shoes and tie them because I want to run and run but I need my shoes and I will find them and wear them and play, play, play because I need sandals but I want to do it myself and run, run, run to baby Eldyn and I will tell him to play and run and I will try to do it myself.”

Potty Training Take 2. We have officially made the switch to big boy underwear and this time, we aren’t looking back. The decision to try again was made after Hiram went almost a full two weeks at daycare without having a single accident. Of course, the added pressure that comes from wearing padded underwear with noisy rubber pants has resulted in a few minor setbacks. But I think it’s safe to say we’re on our way.

Oh Lympics: For the past week, we’ve relaxed the near-no TV rule to let Hiram watch a bit of the Olympics. He seems to be pretty into it (although he loves watching TV so much, it’s possible he’d watch C-SPAN too.) His only real beef is with synchronized diving. After watching quietly for a good 20 minutes, he looked at me and said, “Why they keep doing that over and over?”

Hiram: 2 Years + 2 Months

Hiram: 1 Year + 2 Months

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Hiram: 3 Years + 2 Months

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hiram: 3 Years + 2 Months at AndThen....

meta

