1Q84

August 11, 2012 § 6 Comments

I just finished all 1,040 pages of 1Q84 by Haruki Murikami. Apparently, that wasn’t enough though because I’ve started reading it over again. Which is something I never do.

The reason I can read this book again is because it isn’t the story that has me hooked. It’s the way the words make me feel. Like everything is OK. Like life is simple and organized and basic and definitely, most certainly, not overwhelming. Like there is space in my brain for new ideas.

If you don’t know Murikami, my description might make you think what he writes is simple, organized and basic. But you would be wrong. He used an analogy in 1Q84 that describes the way he brings about calm—for his characters and therefore his readers.

“There is no need for the one in the center of a whirlpool to move. That is what those around the edge must do.”

I could give you an overview of what happens but I don’t want to ruin it. And besides, I know if I even start to explain, you will think I’m crazy. But. If you do read it, please let me know. I want to have coffee with you to discuss.

Tagged: ,

§ 6 Responses to 1Q84

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 1Q84 at AndThen....

meta

