Your Mother Nature Called

November 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

This morning I was in such a funk. I had completely overbooked myself and was finally faced with the task of realizing this truth. And so. Instead of starting in on my long, long list of things that needed (needed!) to be done, I went running.

The route I took has been affectionately dubbed “RunningX” which meant I had almost a full hour to reconfigure my mood. As usual, running helped me think of ways to double up on productivity while simultaneously allowing for a little perspective on what was actually essential. But today, two other things happened. And they gave me the distinct impression that regardless of my time saving ideas, Mother Nature wants me to slow down too.

  1.  A thin film of ice was starting to form on Lake Nokomis. A few years ago, I found myself standing in front of some similar ice and threw a rock out into the middle to see if I could get it to bust through. Instead, it skittered across and made the most surprising sound — something between a whistle and a jingle. Now, whenever I see this “baby ice” I can never resist throwing another rock and today, I got to hear that sound again.
  2. Along my route, there’s a stone “listening bench” that is designed to amplify the sounds you can hear on the shore of Lake Hiawatha. Today, I passed this bench just as 300 geese flew by, squawking and acting like crazy birds. I sat down in the bench and heard 600 geese instead.
Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Your Mother Nature Called at AndThen....

meta

