Me vs. 20 Pounds: January Update

January 11, 2013 § Leave a comment

Things are growing around here. They are:

  • Me (thank you Christmas cookies)
  • My “Inches” star
  • My dread of the upcoming ski
  • My excitement for our beach vacation on Sunny Lake Superior!

I guess I knew it was going to be hard to train up for a 22 mile ski (starting from nada), but now that the ski is actually hitting the snow, I realize that the pink section is just downright demoralizing. There’s coldness. There’s windy-ness. And if there isn’t cold/windy-ness, then there are patches of grass to ski across — patches of grass to stop whatever kind of momentum you had going and throw you mercilessly forward onto your face. As if winter rain wasn’t depressing enough already! Sheesh.

The good news is, I really do like skiing. In moderation. So now my goal is to get through the pink section with this appreciation still in tact. That way next year, when I don’t have the pink section, I’ll still have new skis and a trail close to home. As for right now, I’m focusing on one day at a time. And wondering if I am crazy.

At least I’m well-poised to POUNCE on my weight goal. Sliding into home would have been much more boring.

Fitness Progress January

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Me vs. 20 Pounds: January Update at AndThen....

meta

