Sing It

April 12, 2013 § Leave a comment

Hiram has been doing a lot of singing lately, which I love because he sings with so much gusto. I realized that Hiram’s songs fall into two categories:

1)    Songs to which Hiram knows the words

2)    Songs to which Hiram thinks he knows the words

Songs in the first category are ones that he makes up entirely by himself. Here are the words to a song Hiram sang to us during lunch a few weeks ago.

I don’t care if I don’t have a mind. I don’t mind if a shark eats me and I like him to eat me and I don’t care. I don’t care and I don’t mind. I don’t know that clementines walk, walk, walk. They are for you. When they get smashed just like everybody else but I don’t want everybody to get squirt in the eye. I don’t care when chips get wet. You need to say please because if you say please somebody will give you something.

Songs in the second category are equally charming because they include words you would never think to sing given the melody. Here are Hiram’s words to Feliz Navidad:

Police Mari Dog. Police Mari Dog. Police Mari Dog, mango mango bug. (Repeat, repeat, repeat)

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sing It at AndThen....

meta

