My New Goal: Write a Novel

April 17, 2013 § 3 Comments

It’s been a whole two months since we accomplished the Mora Classic Goal so of course I’m all itchy to get something else going. Here’s what I’ve got: Write a Novel. By 2026.

My cousin Jason Wellnitz just published his first book called River Way Home. I loved reading his book (I wrote a review for it on Amazon, which you can read by checking out his book.)

I especially appreciated the way he tackled this goal I’ve had on the back burner forever. He wrote it, published it and had a lot of fun in the process. It was the kick in the pants I needed to start my own book.

Unlike my cousin, though, I’m on the slow track. The idea of getting a novel done in a year sounds way too daunting. Instead, I decided to try to have it finished before Hiram graduates from high school. Yep, in 2026. I love the idea of having a project that will always be there. And, some of my favorite authors spend a considerable amount of time on the planning and early development process so I’m going to try that too.

If you follow my blog, you know I need goals in order to accomplish anything at all. With a goal that culminates in 2026, I think this is especially true. So, I’ve got a series of little goals I’m planning to report back in on in 2013. Once again, you guys are my silent motivators. Soooo, thanks for that.

One other note: So far, my goal is to make something I’m proud of and self-publish it for my friends and family. At this point, I don’t want my opinions of the publishing industry to screw with my creative process. I’ll let you know if I change my mind.

2013 “Write a Novel” Goals:

  • Develop the main character by writing about her or her life at least once every other week until July
  • Attend “5 Points of a Story” Loft seminar in June and finalize my story outline
  • Take the “Character Development” seminar at the Loft in July
  • Develop another character in the second half of the year
  • Create 2014 Goals

Here’s my progress tracker so far. This one runs up to July.

Novel Progress - April

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to My New Goal: Write a Novel

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My New Goal: Write a Novel at AndThen....

meta

