Chickie Muffin

May 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

A few weeks ago, Hiram made a cupcake decorated like a baby chick. Amidst all the chocolate bunnies, jelly beans and other Easter etc going on at that time, I was hoping some of these treats would fall by the wayside and put it in a slightly lower profile place in the fridge. When I found it still there last week, I put it quietly into the trash. (Yes!)

This morning, Hiram was getting dressed when he stopped and said, “Mom, where’s my chickie muffin?” I strained my brain to process his question – Chickie Muffin? What is he talking about? Oh? Ohhh! Uh Oh! The cupcake!

The way he said this, and the way he was looking at me while he said it, made me feel pretty sure he knew the answer. And also pretty sure my verbal confirmation of the answer was going to set him off. I took a deep breath and told him the truth: “It was moldy so I threw it away,” I said.

And there, before my eyes, was the most entertaining tantrum I think I have ever seen:

“Nooooooooo! Mom! (stomp) I want my chickie muffin! (flop) I wanted to eat that. (kick, kick, kick) That (bang) Was (kick) My (splat) Chickie Muffin! (pound, kick, pound)”

He was actually pretty ticked so I’m glad I didn’t laugh then. Hopefully, someday he’ll see the humor in it.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chickie Muffin at AndThen....

meta

