Write a Novel: June Update

June 30, 2013 § 1 Comment

Ummmm. THAT was inspiring. I took the first of two novel-writing classes at the Loft yesterday and then proceeded to talk Brad’s head off during all of lunch. If he tried to change the subject, I used the “redirection” skills I learned in my media relations days to bring the discussion right back to the topic du jour. The class was basic, but  just what I needed to feel confident about what to do next. It reviewed the basic arc of a story:

  1. Current State
  2. Building Action
  3. Crisis
  4. Falling Action
  5. Resolution

It also helped me identify the areas of my story that could be pitfalls. Surprisingly though, I’m not discouraged! I give credit to the teacher for this. He gave great advice without digging at our creative liberty. In fact, he reminded us that writing a novel is the only place in the world where we get to say how everything goes.

I never thought about it like that before but it’s true. And awesome.

Here’s my progress through June, right on track to complete entirely by the end of July. I’ll start a new one for the second half of the year. YES!

June Update

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Write a Novel: June Update

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write a Novel: June Update at AndThen....

meta

