Sign Here

July 2, 2013 § 1 Comment

I have a confession to make: I wrote Hiram’s birthday thank you notes for him. And by wrote, I don’t mean wrote the words down while he looked on. I wrote them while he was taking a nap.

I am not even sure this needs to be a confession. He is only 4 and I went back and forth about how much I could expect. But. I felt guilty doing it and now writing it down feels like a confession so there you go.

Ultimately, I wrote his notes because we were coming up on a whole month since his party and I kept forgetting and then remembering at the absolute worst times. Probably, if I would have been diligent, we could have made it through them together. But it would have been a slow process and I did a bad job getting us started on time. So, I tried to channel my inner Hiram and vowed to run everything by him when he woke up from his nap.

He could at least sign them, right?

Yep, he could sign them alright. It turns out I severely underestimated his grasp of the thank you note procedure. Here is how I (eventually) got Hiram to sign his notes.

First, I read the note to him. Most of them were pretty straightforward, saying “thanks for coming and thanks for the gift.” Sometimes I editorialized a little. “I can’t wait to do this or that” or “my favorite thing is xyz.”

This editorializing is where I ran into trouble.

“What?” He would say. “That’s not my favorite.”

Or, “What do you mean by that?”

Or, most nerve-wracking of all, he would sit with his pen poised to sign and then abruptly stop and say, “Read that last part again.”

It should make all the thank-you-note-recipients happy to know that Hiram held me to some pretty high standards. He didn’t approve and sign just any old thing.

I honestly felt like I was in another work meeting, begging some executive to please approve a communication I had been working on for weeks. Or at least, I felt like Hiram’s secretary. Which I guess I signed myself up for.

Next year, dude’s on his own.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Sign Here

  • Dottie says:

    It’s been awhile since I’ve read these and as usual, they make me smile and laugh out loud. Glad to see Hiram is his same ole self…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sign Here at AndThen....

meta

