Say What? Do Your Flow

July 11, 2013 § Leave a comment

Every so often, Hiram improves upon a standardized saying. My best first example of this is when he changed “Bad Guy” into “Mad Guy.” Here’s another best example.

Last night, Hiram and I were reading Caps for Sale — the story about the guy with all the hats on his head who walks up and down the main road in town trying to sell them for 50 cents apiece. In the story, the hat guy goes to sleep on the job and ends up getting all but one of his hats stolen by monkeys who are in a tree and won’t come down. The hat guy ends up getting so ticked about this that he basically blows his top.

“That guy’s not doing his flow,” Hiram said.

“That’s right,” I said, not really understanding what he meant. I was about to go on to the next page when curiosity got the best of me and I asked, “What do you mean by that, Hiram?”

He looked at me confused. “Mom, that’s what YOU always tell me. Do my flow and don’t get mad.”

Immediately, I was enamored. How nice is “Do your flow?”

All of a sudden, you’re not telling your kid to jump off the cliff like everyone else. You’re telling him to smooth things out in his own (ideally calm, rational) way. Do your flow. I like it.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Say What? Do Your Flow at AndThen....

meta

