Write a Novel: July Update

July 26, 2013 § 3 Comments

Look at that pretty blue circle of completion! I’ve officially finished my novel-writing goals for the first 6 months.

July Update

Last weekend was the second of two classes I took at the Loft this year, this time about character development.

The class was good, but I left feeling a little discouraged. One of the main goals in character development is authenticity and while I feel like I have been on the (far) outskirts of a lifestyle similar to that of my main character, I definitely haven’t internalized her life to the point of making her authentic yet.

My first character is influenced largely by some kind of new age religion.  I’m pretty religious, but unfortunately (well, actually, fortunately), I am not familiar with the kind of cult-like influences she experiences in her life. I knew this was a gap before I took the class, but the class made me take this problem seriously. I have a lot of work to do.

I’ve been wrestling with myself because it’s time to make my next set of 6 month goals. I guess my secret goal was to start a little bit of writing, or at least move on to the development of another character. Now it seems like I need to stop working on my first character until I can nail down the religion. Since the religion I pick will influence not only my main character but many of the other characters in my story, this is clearly the right next step.

But OH I am getting impatient with this process already. The good news is I love researching things. I just need to give myself permission to take the time I need. Stay tuned next month for my second semester tracking chart.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Write a Novel: July Update

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write a Novel: July Update at AndThen....

meta

