Write a Novel: September Update

September 24, 2013 § 1 Comment

I think it’s safe to say: I’ve got a handle on this cult thing. My goal was to write about the people who influenced my novel’s religion. It was also to continue to read about different cults in America. More than once, I have assigned my religion a characteristic and then read about a similar characteristic in a cult I’m reading about. It’s not too close for comfort. But it feels like I’m on the right track. Plus, I’m getting all kinds of information about my main character and (of course) all kinds of ideas about more work I need to do.

Next up: Describe my religion’s rituals and learn what I can about psychic channeling. I am trying to remember if my goal felt this daunting last month.

I also have an outline for my short story. I don’t love it. But I’m going to go with it unless I can think of something better before I need to start writing the draft. My goal with the short story is to practice the storytelling structure I learned about in the book “Writing Fiction,” so I’m trying not to get too caught up in making it the most perfect thing ever. Yet.

Here’s my status chart for September.

September Novel Update

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Write a Novel: September Update

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write a Novel: September Update at AndThen....

meta

