Write a Novel: October Update

October 25, 2013 § Leave a comment

October got a little off track. First, my class got cancelled, so I couldn’t finish the extracurricular writing focus this month (that will need to wait until February). Then I got a little wigged out by the channeling research I was doing. Not in a bad way, really. But it was definitely distracting.

Example: I was reading this pretty intense message from someone who was supposed to be channeling someone else who currently (?!) exists thousands of years from now. As an “expert” in spirits and channeling, I can tell you that almost every single one of these channeled messages talks about the concept of “vibrations” and people having the free will to pick which vibration they want to be on — be nice and people will be nice to you, expect the worst and you got it babe. Kind of like Karma.

Anyway, when I was done reading the book, I thought to myself, “I’m going to try being on a good vibration to see what happens.” I walked out of the coffee shop and saw a 75-year-old woman driving a convertible with the top down. She was cranking her music and dancing like a maniac in her seat. Right then, when I was standing there looking at the dancing lady, this teenage guy rode up on a bike the size of Hiram’s. He was wearing a backwards hat and his pants were falling down on purpose. He jumped off his bike and said, “I LOVE this song!” and then he started dancing too. Right there on the busy street corner. I thought, “Oh my God! I’m on a different vibration!”

Distracting.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, I’m trying to finalize some of the dirtier, yuckier parts of the cult I’m inventing. I really hate thinking about it and SO! I decided to work on my short story instead. I put all my energy there, resulting in an overworked, soggy, sad, sad story which needs a break.

We all know what that means! It’s time to go back to the cult! Full time in November. Hopefully this isn’t as hard as it sounds since I’ll get a break from the crazy religion research this month. With “History” as my research focus, I’ll be spending some time learning about farming. Normal farming. Not crazy people farming.

I really do love this. Every minute.

Here’s my progress chart:

October Update

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write a Novel: October Update at AndThen....

meta

