Five Thoughts About Trees

October 29, 2013 § 1 Comment

Maybe because its fall, I keep having random thoughts about trees.

Thought #1: We need a name for our maple tree. I was at a birthday party a few weeks ago and became instantly jealous when the man I was talking to referred to the biggest tree in his yard as “Wally.” How come I did not think of this? I name everything and trees even have personality. Please let me know if you can think of a name for my maple tree. Now I can only think of the name “Wally.”

Thought #2: Megan gave me a subscription to Real Simple  for my half-birthday and it suggested that everyone find a tree to watch. It said you should pick just one and watch it every day of the year because it will help you see the passing of the seasons. It also said picking just one tree is better than watching all the trees because if you do that you’ll miss the details. I picked the Ginko that is planted on the boulevard because I can see it from my bed and because it reminds me of my parents.

Thought #3: The Ginko planted on our boulevard is really a runt. A few years ago, all the trees on our block had to be chopped down because of disease. We all got (much smaller) replacement trees and if we wanted, we could request a certain kind of tree. I requested a Ginko because it reminds me of my parents. I didn’t research it’s growth rate, and still haven’t. But I bet if I did I’d find out that Ginkos grow very slowly. Whenever I start to feel embarrassed by this little Ginko, I remind myself that it’s good practice for being a parent. Don’t compare trees!

Thought #4: My dad always says that when a Ginko tree loses its leaves in the fall, it looks like the tree’s pants just fell down. The leaves gather around the the trunk in a pile. This happened to my Ginko and reminded me that having a Ginko is good practice for being a parent. Don’t be embarrassed if your toddler’s pants fall down. This happens at least once a year and is natural.

20131024-141246.jpg

Thought #5: We need a name for our Ginko tree. I name everything and this tree has a lot of personality. Please let me know if you can think of a name for my Ginko tree. I can only think of the name “Pantsing.”

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Five Thoughts About Trees

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Five Thoughts About Trees at AndThen....

meta

