All You Ever Need to Know About Kindergarten

November 25, 2013 § Leave a comment

Haha. Joke’s on me.

Now I have an eye twitch because of Hiram’s Kindergarten.

I thought I was going to be able to write prolifically about this process but actually, it’s too distressing. I think I’ll need to write a retrospective when it’s all over instead. Haha! Look how stressed out I was and see? It’s just fine!

That is going to be an awesome day.

We’ve completed all our scheduled tours and added one more. When Brad asks me if the one we scheduled for next week is going to be the last one I say “yes” but in my head I say “no.” Most likely I am going to make Brad continue to tour kindergartens with me non-stop until Eldyn turns 7. And then we need to start on college. Settle in, Mr. B. 

One thing I can say is that touring is KEY to knowing what you want. Getting what you want, on the other hand, is not turning out to be a very sure thing. Even things I went into this process thinking were a sure thing are not a sure thing. For example. This Q/A on the web site.

Q: Is my child guaranteed acceptance into one of my requested schools? 
A: Yes, if your child is entering kindergarten, you submit your request card by February 19, and one of your requested schools is your community school.

I used to make fun of this Q/A. OH! So if you select your community school as one of your top two “choices” then your child is guaranteed a spot! Haha! I can read between the lines!

When we toured Hiram’s community school last week (which we love) they told us it’s possible they won’t be able to accommodate demand for his school next year. Therefore, Hiram will NOT be guaranteed acceptance into one of his requested schools even if the school we request is his community school.

Remember how we toured this school two years ago and decided not to move because we thought our community school was great?

Let’s add this Q/A next year.

Q: Where the heck will my kid go if he doesn’t get into the school where he’s guaranteed a spot?

Riddle me that, community school!

Breathe. Breathe. Be polite. Control your eye twitch. Baaaaaaaa!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading All You Ever Need to Know About Kindergarten at AndThen....

meta

