Two Sweet Stories

December 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

I’ve been feeling a little anxiety about my blog lately. I made the choice to prioritize my novel so inevitably that means less time to post. But that doesn’t mean I don’t miss it. Writing each day helps me recount the little stuff and when I read it now, I see how much is missing.

Two stories in particular are fueling this anxiety so I’ve decided to post them even though they’re not even remotely timely. Both are about Hiram and sweets:

Allowance: We have started giving Hiram an allowance. Each week he gets a little money to split between his savings and his spending. Earlier this year Hiram had saved up enough money to buy something all by himself for the first time. The first thing Hiram ever bought with his own money was: Hot chocolate with sprinkles.

Candy Corn: On Halloween, I put out a free-for-all bowl of candy corn in the dining room. This is not a typical practice around our house and Hiram was perplexed.

He looked at it for a while, walked back and forth in its vicinity, but never took a single piece. Finally he asked, “What is that?”

“A bowl of candy,” I replied.

“What is it for?”

“It’s for you to sneak from when I am not looking.”

I never saw him eat a single piece of candy but yet, the bowl was emptying out. I would have been baffled myself, but for the giggling.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Two Sweet Stories at AndThen....

meta

