The Scabs of Life

January 17, 2014 § 1 Comment

It’s kind of funny how writing a novel is teaching me so much about life. Like, for (boring) example, how I was recently reminded that asking for help can be extraordinarily useful.

Another idea that I’ve been thinking about is how solving problems in a novel is a lot like waiting for a scab to heal. You have this obvious problem. It’s ugly. It’s clotted over with cakey blood. It’s bugging you but there isn’t much you can do about it.

If you ignore a scab, it falls off. But if you pick at it, well, at best you’re back to square one. At worst, you’ve made the problem bigger. I am always surprised by how my novel problems get solved when I’m not thinking about them. “My novel problems are falling off like scabs!” I actually said to Brad last week.

I started to wish that could be the same in life. And then I realized it probably should be the same in life.

When I’m worrying in circles, it’s because I can’t do a thing about the problem. So maybe I should just ignore it and wait for it to dry up and fall off.

Easier said than done for this picker!

Happy Friday!

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to The Scabs of Life

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Scabs of Life at AndThen....

meta

