Write a Novel: February Update

February 27, 2014 § 3 Comments

February was a month of palpable professional momentum. My brain was all in – pushing the rest of me to do my absolute best. My stomach was one big ball of stress. My heart just wanted everyone to get along.

I’m feeling better now but only because I had a heart to brain to stomach talk and realized it’s necessary to scale back the (already scaled back) novel goals I had set for myself just 4 short weeks ago. This momentum for my business is a great thing. I need time to see it through.

And so, after a full week of negotiation and internal battle – here are the 2014 goals I’ve been able to get all my body parts to agree on.

  • Complete two in-depth character studies for my novel
  • Practice fiction writing and generate novel content by writing 2-3 “Micro Stories” each month
  • Write 2 additional short stories and publish them on my blog
  • Take June and December off (otherwise I just get annoyed at the birthday parties, vacations and holiday festivities I’m supposed to be enjoying and that is ridiculous).

Character Study: Here’s my tracker for my first character. I’ll complete another one just like this after my Birthday Party Break in June. Like last time, I’ve assigned myself topics and angles to think about related to each person. When I finish the topic, the wedge turns blue.

Character Study - Abigail

Micro Stories: This is work to get myself faster and better at writing fiction no matter where/when I have time to write. My goal is to finish 2-3 stories each month and 20 over the whole year. Each story needs to be “done” in 60 minutes. Sometimes, I might publish what I write on my fiction blog. So far, I have only written 1.

Micro Stories

Short Stories: I want to finish two more short stories this year. Short stories are so motivating and teach me a lot about my writing process. They also help me network with other writers and mentors because they demonstrate actual, completed work.

Short Story Progress

This list is so much shorter than my original list, it’s hard for me to take. But then I remember that this situation is precisely why I gave myself 13 years to finish my first novel and also, precisely why I need to write my goals down here. Without goals, I am sure I’d be 2 character studies, 20 micro stories and 2 short stories behind. Without a reasonable timeline, I’d want to give up.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to Write a Novel: February Update

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write a Novel: February Update at AndThen....

meta

