Write a Novel: March Update

March 24, 2014 § 2 Comments

The second month of Novel Year 2014 and I feel good about my goals. Enough pressure to keep my mind and fingers buzzing but not too much to make my stomach ache.

I had a lot of catching up to do on the character study of Abigail in March. In the process, I learned a lot about her and went places I was surprised to go. I realize as I am going through this process that simply completing my prescribed topics isn’t going to be enough. So, once I finish them, I’m going to take some time to refine them and work them into the broader story/charter. This is starting to happen organically already, but I know I can be more intentional about it. I think there’s time in this cushy schedule of mine, but we’ll see.

Character April

This Micro Story exercise is starting to really feel like eating beets. 60 minutes to write a story from start to finish is agony. Especially when I don’t have any idea what I’m going to write about. Just this morning, I gave myself a little more structure (leave it to me) and that made it easier to deal. The structure is this:

  • 20 minutes of typing without stopping or pressing the delete key (I had to cover it with a sticky note)
  • 10 minutes to think of 20 possible endings based on the ramblings above
  • 10 minutes to make an outline
  • 20 minutes to write the rough story

I ended up with the most “cohesive” story to date using this structure. We’ll see if it’s actually a formula or if I just got lucky.

micro stories april

I have two potential outlines for Short Story #1. I can’t decide if this makes me an overachiever or an underachiever. Regardless, I need to write a rough draft in April. My guess is I will not have time to write drafts for both outlines and will be forced to decide out of necessity. Stay tuned.

short stories april

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Write a Novel: March Update

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write a Novel: March Update at AndThen....

meta

