Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson

March 31, 2014 § Leave a comment

 

life after life

Sometimes, especially after spending a lot of time working with Microsoft Office, I’ll spill my coffee or drop a dish and immediately think, “undo.”

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson satisfies the part of my mind that loves the concept of a real world “undo” button. I love that about it. It spends all kinds of time examining the way the world would be if the concept of “do-over” was something that was actually possible. It carried me along, forward and backward, without making me feel confused. It charmed my pants off at times and took advantage of its form to play in a way that was only possible in the world it made.

If you are a reader looking for a whole new way to think about reading (or writing) a book, read it. It’s innovative and it will entertain you. If you are one of the many women who interrupted me while I was reading to tell me you love Kate Atkinson and can’t wait to read the book, read it. It won’t disappoint.

But. If you are someone who wants to feel like you’re making progress when you read, I might recommend something else. Inherently, the story’s structure made for a plot that felt belabored at times. Boring. By the end I felt like I was reading a choose your own adventure book from beginning to end and ignoring the “skip to page” notes at the end of each chapter. A choose your own adventure book without the chance to choose.

Bottom line. You can’t really go wrong. Either you’ll skip it and read something else that might be a little better but a little less innovative. Or you’ll read this book, have a little fun, feel a little frustrated and move on.

 

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson at AndThen....

meta

