Write a Novel: June (and May) Update

June 27, 2014 § Leave a comment

It’s June which was supposed to be the month I took “off” from writing so I could focus on birthday parties. As I secretly knew I would, I spent the month trying to tie up loose ends from the first half of 2014. I even took a day off of work to write and STILL did not finish! But, since I was in the depths of under-achieving despair last month and did not even post an update, this month is a two-fer.

Character Studies reflects the best progress, at least on paper. In reality, I finished doing the writing  but am still futzing around with the final report thing almost daily. I would not call it done. I had also planned to send it to my troop of faithful beta readers but some of it is pretty, well, gritty. The idea of having my closest friends and family see it is giving me high anxiety. I have no idea if that means I should or shouldn’t send it to them.

Character Study

I’m still slogging through these Micro Stories. Again, a situation where I can’t decide if I don’t like writing Micro Stories because they’re actually not productive. Or if I don’t like writing them because they’re just so dang unpleasant. (Micro Stories is something I made up where I try to write a completely made up story in 1 hour. They do sometimes generate content for other stories, but they’re PAINFUL.) In either case, I still have one left to do “the old way” and then I am revising my micro story strategy for the rest of 2014. More on that in July.

Micro Stories

 

And finally, the biggest progress stinker of them all! The Short Story. I am being generous by giving myself credit for a partial rough draft and I most certainly do not have a draft for my Beta Readers. I am also about *this close* to chucking the whole thing out the window so I have time to work on a longer-length memoir about my car. No, I am not really kidding. The voice that is the advice I give to others keeps saying, “write where the energy is,” but then there is another voice that says, “it’s a memoir about your car,” and then there’s the voice that says, “don’t throw away your short story, darkest before dawn!!” And then there’s another voice that says, “you better decide because you got 5 minutes to write!”

Short Stories

Despite all this, I am not in a funk. Not really.

 

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write a Novel: June (and May) Update at AndThen....

meta

