Write a Novel: July Update

July 28, 2014 § 2 Comments

After last month’s update, I knew I needed to cut myself some slack. My novel to-dos were piling up, I was overwhelmed, and whenever I actually had time to write, I just sat there freaking out because I knew I was never going to finish everything.

  • My micro story idea was a huge bomb. I hated doing what felt like wasting time writing something that was aimless and uninspired.
  • My character study was done but for some reason, I just wasn’t satisfied.
  • I had made absolutely no progress on what was supposed to be my “first fiction work” this year. No progress. I didn’t think I had a  single good thing to run with and that was making me beyond grumpy.

At the same time, I had an exciting thing happening. Megan and I were publishing our first children’s book together! I was working so hard on the logistics* for that.

It’s funny how out of touch and down a hole I can get myself. It took getting into a complete frenzy before I realized I just needed to stop and think and somehow find the compassion I needed to give myself a break. To do what some might call creative problem solving, others might call realizing the obvious and I call a moment of clarity.

This children’s book that Megan and I published? It counts. The goal of this fiction exercise, as I’ve said to myself before, is to force myself to show people what I write. To practice and get used to putting words I care about in front of people I care about. To let them judge. To feel myself squirm while people read something that actually comes from me. If having a book for sale is not doing that, then I don’t know what is. First fiction work? Check.

Fiction Progress

As soon as the weight of finishing another work of fiction by July 1 was gone, the rest was easy. That last micro story? Skip it.

Microstories July

I’ve revised the Micro Story strategy so that I have more time to read Writing Fiction. Each month, I’ll finish one story that helps me practice what I’ve just learned. I’m almost done with the one for July and am much happier with it.

And Characters? It’s still done. It’s just a character study after all. I know a heck of a lot more about Abigail now than I did then and that was the point. Instead of moving on to Marcella, I’m going to spend the next few months organizing my thoughts about the Fellowship Community (what I call the 8 Houses). I decided to do this because it’s where the energy is.

 

8 houses progress july

And just like that, I’m back on track. And excited.

*PS – you can pre-order our book right now! They will start shipping next week. If you’re someone who I see all the time, just tell me  you want a copy and we can do it that way instead. That will save shipping costs.

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Write a Novel: July Update

  • tqdcamille says:

    Are you going to have a book launch party or do a local reading, Hadley? I definitely want a copy of the book, but may just buy it at an event if that’s possible. Otherwise I will order one. Congrats on all the progress you’ve made. The children’s book is a HUGE accomplishment, and you are making great strides on the novel. Well done.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write a Novel: July Update at AndThen....

meta

