Vacation Remembered: Thursday, July 31

August 10, 2014 § 1 Comment

20140807-133623-48983403.jpg

If Hiram becomes Marine Biologist, I am going to tell anyone who will listen about how when Hiram was 5, he sat with a dropped-jaw through the entire Aquatic Show at the Shedd Aquarium in Chicago. I’ll tell them that was when he got the bug. I couldn’t take my eyes off him while he watched, stone-faced, as the dolphins dove and the Beluga Whales nuzzled up to the trainers. It’s like he was trying to memorize every second.

Needless to say, the aquarium was Hiram’s vacation highlight. His favorite part, actually, was getting to touch the stingrays and seeing the diver feeding fish in the big tank.

True to form, Eldyn was obsessed with finding out the names of all the animals he saw. He and I even had to make a special trip to ask a trainer about the Beluga Whales (Mama = Myack, Baby = Kimalou). He was still talking about Myack and Kimalou when we got back to the hotel and then realized we never learned the daddy’s name. To keep him from getting upset, I told him the first name I thought of, which unfortunately was “Howard.” He looked at me like he didn’t believe it, but then he said it back to me. “Howard.”

Dinner for our last night in Chicago was a little ridiculous. We went out for hot dogs (Chicago style, of course), French fries, chips and onion rings. B had a beer and for the first time in my life I ordered, “what she’s having” because it looked delicious. It turned out to be a Margarita and it was delicious. I never would have thought to pair it with hot dogs so it was a new experience! Then we ate ice cream sundaes for dessert.

I spent the last night in our fancy hotel trying not to barf. But it was fun.

Vacation Badges Earned

  • Marine Biology
  • Gluttony
Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Vacation Remembered: Thursday, July 31

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vacation Remembered: Thursday, July 31 at AndThen....

meta

