Preschool, check.

August 22, 2014 § Leave a comment

IMG_3287

Today is Hiram’s last day at Preschool. So far, he seems to be taking everything in stride. We went to meet his Kindergarten teacher last night and this got him PUMPED. He loved his classroom and that there is a special room just for music. He also liked that there was a picture of three dolphins in the hallway.

Last night when I was tucking him in, he said, “Tomorrow I say goodbye to all my friends, right?”

“Yep.” I said. (I found out that it actually really works to bite your tongue if you don’t want to cry.)

“And then next week I’m going to kindergarten, right?”

“Yep.” (bite)

This morning when I dropped him off, he was the star. The big guy in class. (It didn’t hurt that he brought Augsburg along today. Augsburg is his huge inflatable dinosaur and because it was his last day, the teachers let Augsburg stay. Bless their souls.)

When I left he was in the center of a circle of toddlers explaining that he’s going to kindergarten next week. That today is his last day. That he brought Pirate Bootie as a treat.

He was in his “leader mode” when he said this. He was so confident. It’s like he was trying to assure us of something he already knew: that this was all going completely according to plan. That this was all just fine.

I left him there for the very last time with his brother and his teachers and all the wonderful friends who know him and love him as much as he deserves to be loved. I’m sure he’s having an amazing day and that makes me so happy. And so sad.

Now. Onward.

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Preschool, check. at AndThen....

meta

