Kindergarten Week 1: Recap

September 1, 2014 § Leave a comment

Three days of Kindergarten down. I don’t know who needed the weekend the most.

  • Hiram was a trooper but had started complaining that all they do in Kindergarten is “sit and talk.” This is a pretty real concern for a boy who is happiest when his head is entirely sweaty.
  • Eldyn finally realized that Hiram wasn’t ever coming back to school with him and started waking up at 3 a.m. to begin his daily protest.
  • I was randomly crying at least 4 times a day
  • Poor Sweet B was left doing his best to hold us all together

“Change” is supposed to be one of my professional specialties but man alive, this change is kicking my butt.

If I become an actress and need to cry on cue, all I need to do is picture Hiram’s face the morning I tried to drop him off in the gym where he currently stays for morning daycare. Hiram usually loves the gym, but boys twice his age were chucking bombardment balls at each other’s faces and Hiram’s little hand was holding mine so hard I couldn’t feel my fingers. We found a different place for Hiram to play that day, but that didn’t stop me from bawling the morning away.

One thing we do at work after a new process “goes live” is to create a list of the things we don’t like about the new reality. Then we use the list to prioritize and fix the problems.

I’ve started a list like this about Kindergarten and already feel a lot better. I think Hiram likes having this list too. I told him about it on Friday and told him my Number 1 Priority was finding ways for him to still be active every day without having to play bombardment. He perked right up.

“OK mom,” he said. “I’ll look for ways, too. You’re working hard, and so am I.”

I know it, baby doll.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kindergarten Week 1: Recap at AndThen....

meta

